Cricket News

IND Vs NZ, 1st T20: Without Rohit, Kohli, Hardik-Led India Looks To Continue Momentum Against Kiwis

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

India has won 10 and drawn two of the last 12 bi-lateral T20I bouts played in this country, with the last series loss dating back to February 2019.

New Zealand, after a 0- 3 loss in the ODIs, will be hopeless for some respite in the three- match T20I leg which commences with the first spin at the JSCA International Stadium Complex then on Friday.

But given India’s astral home record in T20Is, New Zealand’s dry run could well continue.

India has won 10 and drawn two of the last 12bi-lateral T20I bouts played in this country, with the last series loss dating back to February 2019.

It also came out on top in the three- match T20I leg when the side voyaged New Zealand in November last time.

India has made significant labor force changes from the team that stayed unbeaten in the ODIs. Rohit Sharma misses out, so does Virat Kohli. Hardik Pandya, who led the unit in the T20Is against Sri Lanka before this month, will continue as captain.

Shardul Thakur, Mohammed Siraj and Mohammed Shami- the stylish bellwethers on view in the ODIs- make way for Arshdeep Singh, Shivam Mavi and uncapped Mukesh Kumar.

Mumbai batter Prithvi Shaw makes his comeback to transnational justice, on the reverse of a great run in domestic justice. Shaw could open the fur with Shubman Gill the name pantomime in the antedating leg. Gill, with scores of 208 and 112 in the first and third ODIs independently, is all set to make a mark in the shortest format.

Suryakumar Yadav had a disappointing run in the ODIs, but New Zealand will be apprehensive that it’s in T20Is that he truly excels. Suryakumar, numero uno in the ICC Men’s T20I Player Rankings, has set the bar high with his range of unorthodox, intrepid shots.

Ishan Kishan, who managed only 30 runs in the three ODIs, must get his act together.

Vidarbha cricketer Jitesh Sharma, who replaced an injured Sanju Samson in the Sri Lanka T20Is, could find a spot as wicketkeeper- batter if Kishan is dropped.

Batter Rituraj Gaikwad has been ruled out of the three T20Is due to a wrist injury, it was blazoned then on Thursday. No relief will be named for Gaikwad.

Left- arm wrist incentive Kuldeep Yadav has enjoyed a rejuvenescence in India colours. After a while in the nature, Kuldeep has lately proved his worth in 50- over justice. Kuldeep last played a T20I in August last time, and will be eager to hit the ground running in his return to this format.

New Zealand will be led by all- rounder Mitchell Santner. Left- arm fast bowler Ben Lister, who did well in the Super Smash, is in line to earn his demoiselle transnational cap.

“We ’ve seen a lot of Lister over the last couple of times. He has grown extensively as a bowler. His left- arm angle which swings down from the right- hander is commodity new and different. He’s also been brushing enough good bus, ” Santner said in a press conference then on Thursday. Know More Latest Cricket News…

The Squads:

India: Hardik Pandya (Captain), Suryakumar Yadav (vice-captain), Ishan Kishan, Shubman Gill, Deepak Hooda, Rahul Tripathi, Jitesh Sharma, Washington Sundar, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Umran Malik, Shivam Mavi, Prithvi Shaw, and Mukesh Kumar.

New Zealand: Mitchell Santner (Captain), Finn Allen, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Dane Cleaver, Devon Conway, Jacob Duffy, Lockie Ferguson, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Glenn Phillips, Michael Rippon, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, and Blair Tickner.

Write A Comment