Cricket News

Every Winner Of The ICC Awards 2022

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

The ICC Awards celebrate the best performers in the game across all formats from 2022. Here are all the winners of all of the awards that have been announced so far.

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year

ICC Men’s Test Team of the Year is led by England all-rounder Ben Stokes, while also featuring two of his compatriots in Jonny Bairstow and James Anderson. Rishabh Pant takes the gloves, while Pakistan skipper Babar Azam makes it to the middle-order of the strong lineup.

ICC Women’s T20I Team of the Year

Sophie Devine of New Zealand leads the side brimming with India and Australia players. Smriti Mandhana and Beth Mooney open the innings, while Renuka Singh, Sophie Ecclestone and Deepti Sharma are among the bowlers.

ICC Men’s T20I Team of the Year

ICC Men’s T20 World Cup-winning captain Jos Buttler leads the team, and also keeps the wickets. His partner at the top is Mohammad Rizwan, while India’s Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav and Hardik Pandya make it to the middle order.

ICC Men’s ODI Team of the Year

Prolific Pakistan batter Babar captains the ODI Team of the Year. Partnering him at the top is Australia’s Travis Head, while Zimbabwe all-rounder Sikandar Raza is also a part of the side after an outstanding 2022.

ICC Women’s ODI Team of the Year

Harmanpreet Kaur skippers the side which sees Alyssa Healy as the wicket-keeper. The side has New Zealand all-rounder Amelia Kerr at number seven, while consistent South Africa pacer Ayabonga Khaka is also in the side.

ICC Men’s Associate Cricketer of the Year

Gerhard Erasmus of Namibia wins this honour. In 2022, he scored 956 runs in ODIs at an astounding average of 56.23, while his 306 T20I runs came at 38.25. His handy spin earned him 12 wickets in ODIs, and six wickets in T20Is.

ICC Women’s Associate Cricketer of the Year

UAE’s Esha Oza is the winner of this coveted award. She made almost 700 runs in 23 innings last year and was also lethal with the ball, picking 15 wickets at an average of 15.4.

ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year

India’s Yadav was in unreal form in the format last year, hitting 68 sixes during 2022: the most by any player in a year in T20I history. In all, he added 1164 runs at an average of 46.56 and a ridiculous strike rate of 187.43.

ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year

Just about a year into her T20I career, Australia’s Tahlia McGrath wins the ICC Women’s T20I Cricketer of the Year. She scored 435 runs in 16 matches at an average of 62.14 and took 13 wickets in 2022.

ICC Emerging Men’s Cricketer of the Year

South Africa’s Marco Jansen was in red-hot form with the ball and made vital contributions with the willow in an immensely successful year for him.

He picked 36 Test wickets at a bowling average of 19.02 while his batting yielded 234 Test runs.

ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year

India’s Renuka Singh wins the ICC Emerging Women’s Cricketer of the Year award. She impressed one and all with her fine seam and swing bowling, picking 40 international wickets in the year. She overcame competition from Australia’s Darcie Brown, England’s Alice Capsey and her teammate Yastika Bhatia to win the award.

ICC Umpire of the Year

Former England player Richard Illingworth claims his second David Shepherd Trophy for ICC Umpire of the Year, having previously won the same in 2019. During 2022, Illingworth stood in 24 international games.

ICC Men’s ODI Cricketer of the Year

Last year, Babar scored 679 runs from nine matches at an average of 84.87 with three centuries. The batter followed up on his successful 2021 to deliver yet another memorable year with the bat.

ICC Women’s ODI Cricketer of the Year

Nat Sciver of England scored five half-centuries and two centuries in 2022. She was her side’s top performer with the bat, scoring 833 ODI runs. During the Women’s World Cup, she played one of the all-time great innings, hitting a resilient 148* from 121 in the final against Australia.

ICC Men’s Test Cricketer of the Year

England’s Ben Stokes had great returns with the bat and ball, but it was his leadership which stood out during the year. Under his aggressive brand of cricket, England won nine out of 10 Tests. This included a historic series win in Pakistan.

Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy for ICC Women’s Cricketer of the Year

Sciver’s scintillating form through 2022 helped her win the Rachael Heyhoe Flint Trophy. Besides a brilliant year in ODIs, she also excelled in Tests, scoring 242 runs at an average of 121.

Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for ICC Men’s Cricketer of the Year

Babar wins the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the second year in a row. His cross-format form was mind-boggling last year. He scored eight centuries and 15 half-centuries in 2022, scoring over 2500 runs at an average of 54.12.

ICC Spirit of Cricket Award

Nepal’s Aasif Sheikh has been given the ICC Spirit of Cricket Award. Sheikh was given this honour for his decision to not run out Andy McBrine after the Ireland player tripped while attempting a run. Know More Latest ICC News…

Write A Comment