Cricket News

Women’s Premier League 2023: Full Players List, Auction Date Announced

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

A total of 1525 players had registered for the inaugural WPL Player Auction and the final list was pruned to 409 players.

Atotal of 409 cricketers are set to go under the hammer at the Women’s Premier League ( WPL) Player Auction at the Jio World Convention Centre in Mumbai on February 13, 2023.

The initial edition of the WPL is set to be played in Mumbai from March 4 to 26. A aggregate of 22 matches will be played with the Brabourne Stadium and D.Y. Patil Stadium playing hosts to the marquee event.

A aggregate of 1525 players had registered for the initial WPL Player Auction and the final list was pared to 409 players.

Out of 409 players, 246 are Indians and 163 are overseas players with eight of them from associate nations. The total limited players are 202, uncapped players are 199 and 8 from associate nations.

The important- awaited initial season of the Women’s Premier League( WPL) will be played from March 4 to 26 in Mumbai.

“Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium will host the event that will be played between March 4 and 26, ” IPL Governing Council president Arun Dhumal told Sportstar.

Dhumal also verified that the transaction will take place on February 13 in Mumbai, a day after India’s T20 World Cup match against Pakistan.

With the five brigades costingRs. crore and the BCCI dealing the media rights forRs. 951 crore, the WPL is the second biggest T20 League in the world behind the Indian Premier League.

Piecemeal from three IPL platoon possessors- Mumbai Indians, Royal contenders Bangalore and Delhi centrals- Capri Global effects( Lucknow) and the Adani Sportsline have bought the five votes.

Around,500 players have registered for the league and the final list is anticipated to be released latterly this week.

Each platoon will have a bag of Rs. 12 crore at the players ’ transaction and will need to buy a minimum of 15 players and outside of 18. Up to five overseas players, including one from an associate member, will be allowed in the playing eleven.

A aggregate of 22 games will be played in the initial season with the top- ranked platoon in the league stage qualifying directly for the final. The alternate and third placed brigades will battle out for a place in the final.

A outside of 90 places are available for the five brigades, with 30 being slotted for overseas players.

Rs 50 lakh is the loftiest reserve price with 24 players choosing to be slotted in the loftiest type. Indian captain Harmanpreet Kaur, Smriti Mandhana, Deepti Sharma and India’s Under- 19 T20 World Cup- winning captain Shafali Verma are amongst the many Indians who have slotted themselves in the loftiest type.

Thirteen overseas players have also slotted themselves under the Rs 50 lakh reserve price with the likes of Ellyse Perry, Sophie Ecclestone, Sophie Devine and Deandra Dottin to name a many. Know More Women’s Premier League 2023

Write A Comment