Cricket News

T20 World Cup 2022 Group Stage: Teams, Qualification Process, Schedule

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

T20 World Cup 2022: here’s all you need to know about the T20 World Cup group stage, which gets underway in Australia from October 16.

The 2022 ICC Men’s T20 World Cup will get underway on Saturday, October 16, with Sri Lanka taking on Namibia in a first-round Group A match at Kardinia Park in Geelong.

 Sri Lanka and Namibia are placed alongside Netherlands and UAE in GroupA. Group B comprises West Indies, Scotland, Ireland and Zimbabwe.

 The first-round matches will be played in a round- robin format, with each platoon playing all the other brigades in its group. The top two brigades from each group will progress to the Super 12 stage of the event, which begins on October 22.

 The top 12 brigades of the former edition of the T20 World Cup in 2021 earned direct qualification for the 2022 event in Australia. While Afghanistan, Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Pakistan, New Zealand and South Africa directly qualified for the Super 12 stage of the 2022 T20 World Cup grounded on the T20I rankings as on November 12, 2021, Namibia, Scotland, Sri Lanka and West Indies were directly slotted in the Group Stage of the event.

Ireland, UAE, Netherlands and Zimbabwe- finallists of the Global Qualifiers- joined Namibia, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Scotland in the Group Stage of the T20 World Cup in Australia.

 The Global Qualifiers were queried by 16 brigades for the four available T20 World Cup 2022 places.

 Ireland, Netherlands, Oman and Papua New Guinea which were the nethermost four brigades in the Group Stage of the 2021 T20 World Cup- earned a direct entry into the Global Qualifiers. Zimbabwe, Nepal, UAE and Singapore were the loftiest- ranked brigades in the ICC rankings among brigades that hadn’t formerly good for the World Cup or the Global Qualifiers and made their way into the event.

 The remaining eight places were filled by brigades from the Regional Qualifiers. Uganda( Africa qualifier), US and Canana( Americas qualifier), Bahrain and Hong Kong( Asia qualifier), Philippines( East Asia Pacific qualifier), Jersey and Germany( Europe qualifier) were the brigades that completed the 16- platoon canon for the Global Qualifiers.

The 16 brigades in the Global Qualifiers were divided into two groups-Global Qualifier A and Global Qualifer B- comprising eight brigades each and offering two T20 World Cup 2022 places each.

 Global Qualifier A comprised Bahrain, Canada, Germany, Ireland, Nepal, Oman, Philippines and UAE. The event was won by UAE, which defeated Ireland in the final, and both finallists punched their ticket to Australia for the World Cup.

 Hong Kong, Jersey, Netherlands, Papua New Guinea, Singapore, US, Uganda and Zimbabwe were slotted in Global QualifierB. Zimbabwe beat Netherlands in the peak clash of the event and both brigades verified their participation in the World Cup in Australia. Read More Latest Cricket News…

Namibia Ireland
Netherlands Scotland
Sri Lanka West Indies
UAE Zimbabwe

The top-placed team in Group A (A1) and the second-placed team in Group B (B2) will join England, New Zealand, Australia and Afghanistan in Group 1 of the Super 12 stage. The top team of Group B (B1) and the second-best team in Group A (A2) will join India, Pakistan, South Africa and Bangladesh in Group 2.


Group 1 Group 2
Afghanistan Bangladesh
Australia India
England Pakistan
New Zealand South Africa
A1 B1
B2 A2

Write A Comment