Cricket News

Klaasen powers South Africa to 4-wicket win, 2-0 series lead over India

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

A disciplined bowling overall performance followed by using Heinrich Klaasen‘s superb knock (81 off 46) led south africa to a convincing four-wicket win over india inside the 2d t20i and helped them take a 2-zero lead inside the five-fit t20i collection at the barabati stadium, cuttack, on sunday.

South africa limited india to 148/6 in 20 overs regardless of Dinesh Karthik‘s late flourish (30 not out off 21 balls). Except karthik, shreyas iyer (40 off 35), ishan kishan (34 off 21) have been the main scorers as most of the indian batters did not deliver towards proteas bowlers and misplaced wickets at regular intervals.

In reply, Bhuvneshwar Kumar‘s magical figures of four/thirteen in 4 overs become now not sufficient to stop proteas as they chased down the total with 10 balls to spare.

Protecting a modest total, india needed wickets early on and bhuvneshwar kumar delivered after he went thru hendricks’ gate in the very first over. The choice to ship dwaine pretorius did not attain the identical praise because the first game, as he become deceived via the knuckleball of the veteran speedy bowler.

In the 6th over, bhuvneshwar picked his 0.33 wicket with the nip-backer to push aside the harmful Rassie van der dussen. India saved the lid on scoring even after the fielding regulations have been lifted, reducing the proteas to just 36/three after the powerplay.

However, wicket-keeper batter klaasen had other plans. The specified run-price become touching 10 an over whilst he determined to take the assault to india. The carnage started out when he plundered yuzvendra chahal for a four and 6 and dished out comparable treatment to hardik, with two fours in his second over.

The batter smashed axar patel out of the attack in his very first over, accumulating 19 runs which covered a six and  fours. The wicket of temba bavuma for 35 did nothing to slow south africa down as klaasen’s fireworks had introduced the specified charge down.

Klaasen were given to his fifty off just 32 balls and finished the game off in a hurry thereafter. With 34 wished off 30, the selection to bowl chahal backfired on india as david miller and klaasen smoked the wrist-spinner for 3 sixes.

By the time the wicketkeeper-batter turned into brushed off by means of Harshal Patel for 81, south africa best wished 5 from the remaining 3 overs. Bhuvi got one more wicket to complete his 4-for earlier than miller hit the triumphing runs to take the traffic domestic with ten balls and 4 wickets to spare.

In advance, put into bat first, india had a terrible start as opener ruturaj gaikwad became brushed off via kagiso rabada inside the very first over of the innings. Shreyas iyer then joined ishan kishan inside the middle and it became now not easy for both indian batters as proteas pacers were bowling tough lengths on a two-paced cuttack pitch.

India were given a bit of a flow on within the fourth over, with nortje bowling a pair in kishan’s arc and he whipped them over the leg-side for sixes.

The left-hander persisted his aggressive method and took india to forty two/1 at the end of the powerplay.

But, inside the subsequent over, nortje bowled a shot pitch transport to kishan, who became overdue at the pull and presented a dolly to rectangular leg, going back to pavilion after a breezy 34 off 21.

In contrast to delhi, wherein proteas skipper temba bavuma introduced spinners inside the first over, he kept spin away for 8 overs here. Within the ninth over, left-arm spinner tabraiz shamsi turned into introduced and went for 14 runs after iyer hit him for a four and a six. But, keshav maharaj confirmed smartness within the next over, bowled outdoor off at an onrushing rishabh pant (5) who mistimed his slog to the sweeper cover fielder, leaving india to sixty eight/3 in 9.1 overs.

From there on, the onus was on hardik pandya and a settled iyer to take india ahead. But, bavuma added wayne parnell back into the attack and the pacer bowled a ball with the perspective to knock pandya’s stumps down.

Very soon, iyer nicked off a dwaine pretorius transport, which became caught by klaasen in the back of the wickets. India nonetheless had hopes from dinesh karthik and axar pair — the ultimate recognised pair to take their crew to a competitive general. However axar (10) could not do a good deal, were given out to nortje within the final transport of the 17th over, leaving india tottering at 112/6.

It was ultimately, kartik, who used his finishing capabilities well and along side harshal patel (12 no longer out) scored 30 runs within the closing  overs, taking india to 148/6 in 20 overs. Anrich nortje (2/36) changed into the maximum a hit bowler for south africa whilst kagiso rabada, wayne parnell, dwaine pretorius, keshav maharaj picked one wicket every. More News…

Scoreboard of the second Twenty20 international between India and South Africa in Cuttack on Sunday:


R Gaikwad c Maharaj b Rabada    1

I Kishan c van der Dussen b Nortje    34

S Iyer c Klaasen b Pretorius    40

R Pant c van der Dussen b Maharaj    5

H Pandya b Parnell    9

A Patel b Nortje    10

D Karthik not out    30

H Patel not out 12

Extras (lb1, w6)    7

Total (6 wickets, 20 overs)    148

Did not bat: Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Avesh Khan, Yuzvendra Chahal

Fall of wickets: 1-3 (Gaikwad), 2-48 (Kishan), 3-68 (Pant), 4-90 (Pandya), 5-98 (Iyer), 6-112 (Axar)

Bowling: Rabada 4-0-15-1 (w1), Parnell 4-0-23-1 (w2), Nortje 4-0-36-2 (w1), Pretorius 4-0-40-1, Shamsi 2-0-21-0 (w2), Maharaj 2-0-12-1

South Africa (target 149)

T Bavuma b Chahal    35

R Hendricks b Kumar    4

D Pretorius c Avesh b Kumar    4

R van der Dussen b Kumar    1

H Klaasen c sub (Bishnoi) b H Patel    81

D Miller not out    20

W Parnell b Kumar    1

K Rabada not out    0

Extras (lb1, w2)    3

total (6 wickets, 18.2 overs)    149

Did not bat: K. Maharaj, A. Nortje, T. Shamsi

Fall of wickets: 1-5 (Hendricks), 2-13 (Pretorius), 3-29 (van der Dussen), 4-93 (Bavuma), 5-144 (Klaasen), 6-147 (Parnell)

Bowling: Kumar 4-0-13-4, Avesh 3-0-17-0, Pandya 3-0-31-0, Chahal 4-0-49-1 (w1), Harshal 3-0-17-1 (w1), Axar 1-0-19-0, Iyer 0.2-0-2-0

Write A Comment