Cricket News

IND vs SL 1st WODI: Indian women prevail over Sri Lanka by 4 wickets

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

India bowled out sri lanka for 171 in forty eight.2 overs, and then chased down the target with 12 overs to spare

Sri lanka, having gained the toss, asked india to bat first in the first of three t20is at the bharat ratna shri atal bihari vajpayee ekana cricket stadium, lucknow on thursday.

The skilled deepti sharma shone with the bat after her exploits with the ball, coming to the indian women’s group’s rescue in a intricate chase for a 4-wicket win over sri lanka in the first odi right here on friday.

Within the corporation of pooja vastrakar (21 not out), deepti (22 not out) guided the crew domestic in 38 overs after being set an easy goal of 172, in harmanpreet kaur’s first healthy as complete-time odi captain.

Cruising at 123 for 3, india nearly made heavy weather of what seemed a relaxed run-chase after Harmanpreet Kaur departed for a nicely-made 44, slipping to 138 for six.

But deepti and vastrakar ensured india emerged winner.

The three-suit series is a part of the icc odi championship.

Harmanpreet took over the reins within the 50-over format after the latest retirement of long-time skipper mithali raj.

Thanks to the indian bowlers’ first rate show in the series opener, sri lanka’s decision to bat first after prevailing the toss did no longer yield the favored result.

Pro off-spinner deepti (three for 25) and medium pacer renuka singh (3 for 29) had been the wreckers-in-leader.

Renuka gave the crew’s first step forward when she removed sri lankan skipper chamari athapaththu with a peach of a delivery that landed within the channel outside off, forcing the batter to fish at it, and yastika bhatia did the relaxation at the back of the stumps.

It changed into a big wicket for india, and straightaway put the host on the backfoot.

Deepti loved early success while she disregarded hansima karunaratne for an eleven-ball duck. In search of to break the shackles, the batter went down the music to a delivery that became tossed up, but the loss of elevation intended the ball did not tour past mid off.

A partnership ensued however no longer for lengthy, with deepti getting the better of opener hasini perera by way of hitting her pads even as the batter attempted to play the sweep shot. Hasini made 37 off fifty four balls.

Sri lanka were in for extra shock as 63/three quickly have become 65/4, this time skipper harmanpreet, playing achievement with the ball via disregarding kavisha dilhari for a nought.

As wickets tumbled at one quit, nilakshi de silva held fort at the alternative till she became trapped in the front of the wicket for a 63-ball 43.

The indians also were given off to a negative start, losing smriti mandhana (four) as early as the second over.

Wicketkeeper bhatia (1), too, did not last long, leaving india at 17 for 2 within the fourth over.

Skipper harmanpreet then played the position of an anchor allowing shafali verma to blaze her way to 35 off forty deliveries.

Harleen deol chipped in with 34 0ff 40 balls, earlier than the duo of deepti and pooja vastrakar took the traffic home.

Sri lanka, having won the toss, requested india to bat first within the first of three t20is on the bharat ratna shri atal bihari vajpayee ekana cricket stadium, lucknow on thursday.Brief scores: Sri Lanka women: 171 all out in 48.2 overs (Nilakshi de Silva 43, Hasini Perera 37, Deepti Sharma 3/25, Renuka Singh 3/29) India Women: 176/6 in 38 overs (Harmanpreet Kaur 44, Shafali Verma 35, Harleen Deol 34, Deepti Sharma 22 not out, Pooja Vastrakar 21 not out; Inoka Ranaweera 4/39). Read More News…


India: Harmanpreet Kaur (C), Smriti Mandhana (VC), Shafali Verma, Yastika Bhatia (wk), S Meghana, Deepti Sharma, Poonam Yadav, Rajeshwari Gayakwad, Simran Bahadur, Richa Ghosh (wk), Pooja Vastrakar, Meghna Singh, Renuka Singh, Taniya Bhatia (wk), Harleen Deol.

Sri Lanka: Chamari Athapaththu (c), Nilakshi de Silva, Kavisha Dilhari, Vishmi Gunaratne, Ama Kanchana, Hansima Karunaratne, Achini Kulasuriya, Sugandika Kumari, Harshitha Samarawickrama, Hasini Perera, Udeshika Prabodhani, Oshadi Ranasinghe Inoka Ranaweera, Sathya Sandeepani, Anushka Sanjeewani, Malsha Shehani,Tharika Sewwandi.

Write A Comment