2022 FIFA World Cup News

FIFA World Cup 2022: What is the Golden Boot in World Cup? List of Golden Boot winners

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Officially instituted in the 1982 World Cup, the award was known as the Golden Shoe till the 2006 World Cup. In 2010, FIFA rechristened the award into its current form.

Golden Boot is a coveted award that’s awarded to the top arranger at each edition of the FIFA World Cup.

Officially introduced in the 1982 World Cup, the award was known as the Golden Shoe till the 2006 World Cup. In 2010, FIFA rechristened the award into its current form.

The top songwriters at former FIFA World Cup editions also entered the golden shoe, while the alternate and third loftiest songwriters got the tableware shoe and the citation shoe.

In the initial edition of the World Cup in 1930, Argentina’s Guillermo Stabile came the first footballer to be conferred with the Golden Boot for scoring eight pretensions.

The record for the most number of pretensions scored in a FIFA World Cup belongs to France’s Just Fontaine, who scored 13 pretensions in the 1958 Sweden edition of the quadrennial event.

No player has won the Golden Boot further than formerly, but Brazilians, at six, hold the record for winning the award the most number of times.

The Golden Boot is a brass amalgamation electroplated with gold. It weighs about a kilogram.

The most important thing about football is a thing. It causes happiness and heartache coincidently. With FIFA World Cup 2022 all set for the kick- off, let us visit the moment of the foremost pretensions in the quadrennial event.

In 2002, in Asia’s first World Cup concertedly hosted by South Korea and Japan, Turkey’s Hakan Sukur scored the fastest thing of the World Cup.

In the third- place playoff between South Korea and Turkey, Sukur put his country in the lead when he set up the reverse of the net in10.8 seconds. Turkey won the match 3- 2 and secured third place- its stylish- ever performance in the FIFA World Cup. Although he played just one World Cup, the thing cemented Hakan Sukur’s name in the record book.

His thing broke Vaclav Masek’s 40- time-old record. In the 1962 World Cup, the Czech striker scored in the 16th second into the first half against Mexico. It’s now the alternate-fastest thing of the event.

The record for the third fastest thing belongs to English football legend Bryan Robson who scored within 27 seconds from kick- off against France at the 1982 World Cup. In 2014, USA’s Clint Dempsey scored in the 30th second of a group stage tie against Ghana to sculpture the record for the fourth fastest thing of the mega event. Know More News…

Here is the complete list of Golden Boot winners:

Guillermo Stabile, Uruguay – Eight Goals – Uruguay 1930

Oldrich Nejedly, Czechoslovakia – Five Goals – Italy 1934

Leonidas, Brazil – Seven Goals – France 1938

Ademir, Brazil – Eight Goals – Brazil 1950

Sandor Kocsis, Hungary – 11 Goals – Switzerland 1954

Just Fontaine, France – 13 Goals – Sweden 1958

Florian Albert (Hungary), Valentin Ivanov (Soviet Russia), Garrincha and Vava (Brazil), Dražan Jerkovic (Yugoslavia Croatia), Leonel Sánchez (Chile) – Four Goals – Chile 1962

Eusebio, Portugal – Nine Goals – England 1966

Gerd Muller, Germany – 10 Goals – Mexico 1970

Grzegorz Lato, Poland – Seven Goals– West Germany 1974

Mario Kempes, Argentina – Six Goals – Argentina 1978

Paolo Rossi, Italy – Six Goals – Spain 1982

Gary Lineker, England – Six Goals – Mexico 1986

Salvatore Schillaci, Italy – Six Goals – Italy 1990

Oleg Salenko (Russia) and Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria) – Six Goals – United States 1994

Davor Suker, Croatia – Six Goals – France1998

Ronaldo Nazario, Brazil – Eight Goals) – South Korea/Japan 2002

Miroslav Klose, Germany – Five Goals – Germany 2006

Thomas Muller, Germany – Five Goals Goals – South Africa 2010

James Rodriguez, Colombia – Six Goals) – Brazil 2014

Harry Kane, England– Six Goals – Russia 2018

Write A Comment