Cricket News

Bangladesh vs Netherlands, T20 World Cup 2022: Taskin leads Bangladesh’s nine-run win over the Dutch

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

It has been eight times since Netherlands have qualified for the main round of the T20 World Cup, but indeed longer since Bangladesh last won a match at this stage of the competition- 15 times to be precise. Long enough for the notion to spread that Bangladesh are long hauls behind utmost T20 brigades at this position.

But as keen as both sides will be to get points in their name, they could end up unyoking the game as there is a lot of rain in the cast in Hobart. As similar, neither side had been suitable to train much at the venue.

Bangladesh have come into this event with the smallest of prospects from their suckers, who are substantially hoping that the platoon comes out of the competition with their character complete. Bangladesh have had an ordinary time, having won just four T20Is, including two against the UAE in a hastily arranged series last month.

Bangladesh also lost all four of theirtri-series matches in Christchurch, at times looking like a side only there to make up the figures. One might argue that trial was the thing in New Zealand, but indeed so, this is a side low on confidence.

Regular changes in their top order, leadership insecurity and injuries have really done a number on Bangladesh in the last three months. All that means is that the onus is on Shakib Al Hasan to present a united front, and bring out the stylish in his platoon. utmost Bangladesh trainers have figured out that individual performances, particularly in T20Is, have not helped them win games.

What has been missing is a complete platoon trouble, and although the fast bowlers have been in form this time, and there have been pockets of good performances from Afif Hossain and Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Bangladesh need enhancement from their batters and fielders to bring them some respite in T20Is.

Netherlands should be smart enough to take advantage of Bangladesh’s situation. They’ve one of the more successful fast- bowling attacks from the first round. Fred Klaasen, Bas de Leede and Paul van Meekeren have been quick and accurate, although Timm van der Gugten hasn’t relatively hit his stride.

Their baits have surprised everyone, producing thesecond-most provident attack, at5.65 runs per over, in the first round. They’ve a left- arm spin pairing of Tim Pringle, a extensively bettered bowler, and the stager Roelof van der Merwe, who has held his own.

But Netherlands’ fur hasn’t yet reached its full eventuality, with MaxO’Dowd scoring their only half- century and generally being a trouble at the top. The likes of de Leede, captain Scott Edwards and Tom

Cooper are short of runs. There, still, could not be a better occasion for these batters to eventually come to the party.

Paul van Meekeren is the in- form fast bowler in the Netherlands side, having sailed three top spells in the first round. The capstone was Meekeren’s burst against Sri Lanka that nearly derailed the Asia Cup titleholders. Meekeren will drift presto, at times short but substantially full, to test the Bangladesh batters who are frequently set up wanting against presto, short bowling.

There will be a lot of prospects girding Litton Das, recognised as the platoon’s most dependable batter in 2022. Litton has made runs in all three formats, but some further in the T20Is will clearly help the platoon in this World Cup. Litton is likely to return as an nature, as Bangladesh have seriously plodded to get one brace to work this time.

Netherlands are likely to go with the same line- up that took on Sri Lanka in their last group game from the first round. Read More Latest Cricket News…

Netherlands( probable) 1 MaxO’Dowd, 2 Vikramjit Singh. 3 Bas de Leede, 4 Colin Ackermann, 5 Tom Cooper, 6 Scott Edwards( capt & wk), 7 Tim Pringle, 8 Timm van der Gugten, 9 Fred Klaassen 10 Paul van Meekeren, 11 Roelof van der Merwe

Bangladesh’s trials with the opening combination have not really worked, so returning to the Soumya Sarkar- Litton brace is likely. They will bank on a three- man pace attack with Shakib and Mehidy furnishing the spin specialty.

Bangladesh( probable) 1 Soumya Sarkar, 2 Litton Das, 3 Shakib Al Hasan, 4 Afif Hossain, 5 Yasir Ali, 6 Nurul Hasan( wk), 7 Mosaddek Hossain, 8 Mehidy Hasan Miraz, 9 Taskin Ahmed, 10 Shoriful Islam, 11 Hasan Mahmud

Write A Comment