Asia Cup 2022

Asia Cup 2022: Full List Of Injuries, Replacements, Updated Squads

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Here are the latest squad updates ahead of Asia Cup 2022 after teams suffered injury setbacks and named replacements following them.

Here Are All The Brand New Updates On Accidents And Replacements Beforehand Of Asia Cup 2022, Which Is Ready To Start On Saturday, August 27, With Sri Lanka Taking On Bangladesh In Dubai


While pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah (back injury) and Harshal Patel (rib injury) were ruled out of Asia Cup 2022 earlier in August, India suffered a setback on Tuesday when head coach Rahul Dravid tested positive for COVID-19 ahead of the team’s departure to the UAE.

Meanwhile, the BCCI is trying to ensure that the paperwork and UAE visa process are completed for VVS Laxman, who coached the ODI team in Zimbabwe, in case he needs to join the team in Dubai. Dravid, who is under supervision and has mild symptoms, will join the team once he returns with a negative COVID-19 report. 


Rohit Sharma (c), KL Rahul (vc), Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Deepak Hooda, Rishabh Pant (wk), Dinesh Karthik (wk), Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, R. Ashwin, Yuzvendra Chahal, Ravi Bishnoi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Arshdeep Singh, Avesh Khan.


India’s archrival Pakistan was also dealt a major blow in the bowling department when ace left-arm fast-bowler Shaheen Afridi was ruled out of the tournament on Saturday due to a knee injury. Right-arm pacer Mohammad Hasnain was named as Afridi’s replacement in the squad on Monday. 


Babar Azam (c), Shadab Khan, Asif Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Haider Ali, Haris Rauf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Khushdil Shah, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shahnawaz Dahani, Usman Qadir, Mohammad Hasnain.

Sri Lanka

Sri Lanka pacer Dushmantha Chameera was out of the Asia Cup 2022 squad on Monday with a calf strain. Pramod Madhushan, another right-arm quick on the standby list, replaced Chameera in the squad. Left-arm fast quick Binura Fernando and right-arm pacer Kasun Rajitha were selected for the tournament but will not tour due to injury. 


Dasun Shanaka (c), Dhanushaka Gunathilaka, Pathum Nissanka, Kusal Mendis, Charith Asalanka, Banuka Rajapaksha, Ashen Bandara, Dhananjaya de Silva, Wanidu Hasaranga, Mahesh Theekshana, Jeffery Vandersay, Praveen Jayawickrema, Chamika Karunaratne, Dilshan Madushanka, Matheesha Pathirana, Dinesh Chandimal, Nuwanindu Fernando.


Right-arm medium-pacer Hasan Mahmud, who was named in the 17-player squad for the Asia Cup, was ruled out with an ankle injury sustained during training on Saturday. Wicketkeeper Nurul Hasan, still recovering from surgery on his left index finger, will also miss the tournament. Opening batter Mohammad Naim was the only replacement named by Bangladesh on Monday. 


Shakib Al Hasan (c), Anamul Haque, Mushfiqur Rahim, Afif Hossain, Mosaddek Hossain, Mahmudullah, Mahedi Hasan, Mohammad Saifuddin, Mustafizur Rahman, Nasum Ahmed, Sabbir Rahman, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Ebadot Hossain, Parvez Hossain Emon, Taskin Ahmed, Mohammad Naim.

Bangladesh Cricket Board also announced on Monday that Head Coach Russell Domingo would no longer oversee the T20I team and would focus on Test and One-Day Internationals going forward. Former India cricketer and Technical Consultant Sridharan Sriram will look after the T20 side instead. Read More Latest News…

Write A Comment