Cricket News

Senior Player Misses Out As Bangladesh Reveal CWC23 Squad

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

Bangladesh have finalised their 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India, with veteran batter missing out.

Recently- named commander Shakib Al Hasan will continue to lead the side, while Najmul Hossain Shanto was elevated to vice-captaincy but the big news remains the rejection of Tamim Iqbal, who had reversed his ODI withdrawal before in the time.

Tamim had blazoned his decision to step down as the Bangladesh ODI platoon captain after a back injury had ruled him out of the Asia Cup 2023. still, he recaptured fitness ahead of the World Cup, but is no longer a part of the team for the event.

Likewise, leader Ebadot Hossain has failed to recover in time for the World Cup. He’d sustained a knee injury during the ODI series against Afghanistan in July, and passed a knee surgery on 30 August.

Despite Tamim’s absence, Bangladesh’s fur features the experience of Mushfiqur Rahim, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Litton and Shakib. Spin continues to remain the platoon’s strong point, featuring an exceptional set of cutlet baits in Shakib, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed and Mahedi Hasan.

A number of these baits are also able each- rounders, including Shakib and Mehidy while Nasum also showcased his gift with the club in the recent Asia Cup.

And despite the loss of Ebadot, the pace bowling has enough skill to beget troubles in the opposition ranks. Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman lead the way with Shoriful Islam, Hasan Mahmud and Tanzim Hasan for support.

The platoon will play two World Cup warm-up institutions at Guwahati against Sri Lanka and England independently. They open their World Cup crusade against Afghanistan at Dharamsala on 7 October. Know More Latest CWC 2023 News…

Bangladesh World Cup squad: Shakib Al Hasan (c), Litton Das, Tanzid Hasan Tamim, Najmul Hossain Shanto (vc), Tawhid Hridoy, Mushfiqur Rahim, Mahmudullah Riyad, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Nasum Ahmed, Shak Mahedi Hasan, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Tanzim Hasan Sakib

Write A Comment