Cricket News

All You Need to Know for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023

Pinterest LinkedIn Tumblr

From the points tally your team will need to reach the semi-finals, to a look at the venues and squads, all you need to know ahead of the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

With the launch of the event just days down, all the important details ahead of the first delivery that will be sailed on 5 October.

Played in the same format as Cricket World Cup 2019, the 10 brigades at Cricket World Cup 2023 will play every other side formerly in a single round robin format, with the top four brigades going on to the semi-finals.

The top platoon after the round robin will play the platoon finishing fourth on the table, while the alternate and third- place finishers will meet in the other semi-final.

The winners of each semi-final will meet in the final on 20 November.

Taking a look at the 2019 edition, seven palms from nine should be enough to guarantee asemi-final spot, with India and Australia’s 7- 2 record (India also had an redundant point for a rained- out institution) four times ago enough to place both in the top two.

Assuming little to no tempestuous rainfall, six triumphs could place brigades in a precarious spot.

Still, total triumphs is the coming tie- swell, with net run rate the coming factor to consider when secerning brigades, If brigades are position on points.

To use 2019 as an illustration, New Zealand edged Pakistan to fourth spot on net run rate after both brigades finished on equal points (11) and equal triumphs (five), with the brace also taking a point from a no- result.

A script with at least three brigades on six triumphs would probably mean a platoon misses out on net run rate, so seven triumphs should be the minimal thing for brigades fighting for the jewel.

After India good as hosts, the coming seven brigades were decided by finishing positions in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League, a three- time competition where 13 brigades played eight three- match bilateral series each.

New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan and South Africa all progressed to the Cricket World Cup via a top eight position in the competition, while the nethermost five went on to the Cricket World Cup Qualifier, joining others from League 2 and the Qualifier Play- off event.

Sri Lanka and the Netherlands, after finishing 10th and 13th independently in Super League, went on to progress to Cricket World Cup 2023 only via the Qualifier.

Sri Lanka went unbeaten in group play and in the Super Six stage to go through, while The Netherlands good by squeezing once Scotland and Zimbabwe on net run rate in the Super Sixes.

The Dutch managed to chase Scotland’s target of 278 quick enough to catch them to bespeak India tickets.

Prize Money

An overall US$10 million pot has been announced for the tournament.

The winners of the tournament will take home US$4 million, with the runners-up winning US$2 million.

Teams will also collect US$ 40,000 after every group stage win.

Narendra Modi Stadium, Ahmedabad 

The largest sports colosseum in the world will host the event nature on 5 October, the India v Pakistan institution on 14 October, and the event final slated for 19 November.

The 132,000- capacity venue’s redevelopment was completed in 2021, hosting a day- night Test between India and England, as well as the last two IPL tests.

Both Cricket World Cup 2023semi-finals will have a reserve day, as well as the event final.

Should they need to be taken, matches on reserve days will take place a day after their firstly- listed match date. Know More Latest ICC Cricket World Cup News…

Write A Comment